millennium olive tree

In the shade of this protective and serene old olive tree, one can contemplate five menhir statues with strong phallic symbolism, grouped in alignment below what becomes an imposing oppidum.   Back...

Chronology and furniture

On the return, before joining the exit of the visit, the museum provides additional information to the visitor. The details inside will allow us to penetrate more deeply both into daily life and into the customs and beliefs of all these men who have succeeded each...

Raw menhir

A simple menhir before stylistic and chronological evolution, its silhouette tends towards a sub-rectangular shape. This type of monolith is calibrated and its size is generally between 0.80 cm and 2.50 m. In some cases, they are simply detached and erected granite...

Granite quarry

If you go up a little, you can see a rocky promontory from which the blocks of stone, the raw material for the buildings and statues of the place, were extracted. This is the granite quarry that was rediscovered during work on the mound facing the spur carrying the...

Alignment

To get to the alignment of the five statue-menhirs standing in the valley at the foot of the thousand-year-old olive tree, one crosses the stream of Barcajolo (Filitosa III, Filitosa IV, Filitosa I, Tappa I, Filitosa II). These statues, the first to be seen in...

Olivier Millénaire

A l’ombre de ce vieil olivier protecteur et serein, l’on peut contempler cinq statues-menhirs à fortes symboliques phalliques, regroupées en alignement en contrebas de ce qui devient un imposant oppidum.   Retour...

Chronologie et mobilier

Au retour, avant de rejoindre la sortie de la visite, le musée apporte un complément d’information au visiteur. Les précisions que l’on trouvera à l’intérieur permettront de pénétrer plus profondément tant dans la vie quotidienne que dans les coutumes et dans les...

Menhir brut

Menhir simple avant évolution stylistique et chronologique, sa silhouette tend vers la forme sub-rectangulaire. Ce type de monolithe est calibré et sa taille est généralement comprise entre 0,80 cm et 2,50 m. Dans certain cas, ce sont simplement des blocs de granite...

Carrière de granit

En montant un peu, on peut distinguer un promontoire rocheux d’où étaient extraits les blocs de pierre, matière première à la réalisation des édifices et des statues du lieu. Il s’agit de la carrière de granite redécouverte lors de travaux de démaquisage sur la butte...

Alignement

Pour se rendre sur l’alignement des cinq statues-menhirs redressées dans la vallée au pied de l’olivier millénaire, on franchit le ruisseau de Barcajolo (Filitosa III, Filitosa IV, Filitosa I, Tappa I, Filitosa II). Ces statues, les premières remarquées à Filitosa,...